User Tools

Site Tools


twine2:where_your_stories_are_saved

Differences

This shows you the differences between two versions of the page.

Link to this comparison view

twine2:where_your_stories_are_saved [2015/04/08 19:20]
nicolem
twine2:where_your_stories_are_saved [2017/10/09 20:39]
Line 1: Line 1:
-===== Where Your Stories Are Saved ===== 
  
-<note warning> 
-Please read this section carefully. Not understanding where your stories are saved can cause you to accidentally lose your work. 
-</​note>​ 
- 
-Stories in Twine 2 are saved to your web browser itself, **not** to the twinery.org web site. ((Technically speaking, they are saved to your browser'​s //local storage.// Local storage is a way for web sites to save data in your own browser instead of on the web site itself. That's why you don't have to create an account if you are using the online version of Twine 2 -- it's saving your stories directly to your computer.)) This is the case even if you're running Twine 2 from a copy you downloaded to your own computer. 
- 
-Because of this, if you use multiple web browsers or profiles on your computer, the stories saved to one browser will not be available to any other. (Likewise, an in-progress story using Twine 2 will not be available on any other computer.) 
- 
-And more importantly,​ **deleting your browser'​s history will also delete your stories**. The exact option that will do this goes under different names in different browsers. 
- 
-In Chrome: 
- 
-  * There is a button on the Settings page named **Clear browsing data**. You can safely choose any checkbox on the resulting dialog box except **Cookies and other site and plug-in data**. 
-  * Using the **Reset settings** button on the Settings page will also delete your stories. 
- 
-In Firefox: 
- 
-  * There is a link labeled **Clear recent history** in the **Privacy** tab of the **Preferences** dialog. You can safely use this if you click the triangle button at the bottom the resulting dialog box and uncheck **Cookies**. 
-  
-In Internet Explorer: 
- 
-  * There'​s a menu item named **Delete browsing history** in the **Safety** menu. You can safely use this if you make sure to uncheck the **Cookies** checkbox in the resulting dialog box. 
-  * It is also possible to get to the **Delete browsing history** dialog by choosing **Internet Options** from the gear menu, then looking in the **General** tab. The same considerations as above apply. 
- 
-In Safari: 
- 
-  * Choosing **Remove All Website Data** from the **Privacy** tab in the **Preferences** dialog will delete all of your stories. 
-  * Choosing **Reset Safari** from the **Safari** menu will delete all of your stories. 
- 
-Yikes, right? The best thing to do to avoid these problems is to regularly archive your work with the **Archive** link on the right sidebar of the [[twine2:​the_story_list|story list]]. This saves all of your stories to a file on your computer that can then be restored with the **Import** link on the same page. 
twine2/where_your_stories_are_saved.txt ยท Last modified: 2017/10/09 20:39 (external edit)