User Tools

Site Tools


twine2:where_your_stories_are_saved

Differences

This shows you the differences between two versions of the page.

Link to this comparison view

Both sides previous revision Previous revision
Next revision
Previous revision
twine2:where_your_stories_are_saved [2015/04/08 19:19]
nicolem
twine2:where_your_stories_are_saved [2017/10/09 20:39] (current)
Line 1: Line 1:
 ===== Where Your Stories Are Saved ===== ===== Where Your Stories Are Saved =====
  
-<note warning>+<WRAP important>
 Please read this section carefully. Not understanding where your stories are saved can cause you to accidentally lose your work. Please read this section carefully. Not understanding where your stories are saved can cause you to accidentally lose your work.
-</note>+</WRAP>
  
 Stories in Twine 2 are saved to your web browser itself, **not** to the twinery.org web site. ((Technically speaking, they are saved to your browser'​s //local storage.// Local storage is a way for web sites to save data in your own browser instead of on the web site itself. That's why you don't have to create an account if you are using the online version of Twine 2 -- it's saving your stories directly to your computer.)) This is the case even if you're running Twine 2 from a copy you downloaded to your own computer. Stories in Twine 2 are saved to your web browser itself, **not** to the twinery.org web site. ((Technically speaking, they are saved to your browser'​s //local storage.// Local storage is a way for web sites to save data in your own browser instead of on the web site itself. That's why you don't have to create an account if you are using the online version of Twine 2 -- it's saving your stories directly to your computer.)) This is the case even if you're running Twine 2 from a copy you downloaded to your own computer.
Line 27: Line 27:
 In Safari: In Safari:
  
-  * Choosing *Remove All Website Data* from the *Privacy* tab in the *Preferences* dialog will delete all of your stories. +  * Choosing ​**Remove All Website Data** from the **Privacy** tab in the **Preferences** dialog will delete all of your stories. 
-  * Choosing *Reset Safari* from the *Safari* menu will delete all of your stories.+  * Choosing ​**Reset Safari** from the **Safari** menu will delete all of your stories.
  
-Yikes, right? The best thing to do to avoid these problems is to regularly archive your work with the **Archive** link on the right margin ​of the story list. This saves all of your stories to a file on your computer that can then be restored with the **Import** link on the same page.+Yikes, right? The best thing to do to avoid these problems is to regularly archive your work with the **Archive** link on the right sidebar ​of the [[twine2:​the_story_list|story list]]. This saves all of your stories to a file on your computer that can then be restored with the **Import** link on the same page.
twine2/where_your_stories_are_saved.1428535161.txt.gz · Last modified: 2017/10/09 20:38 (external edit)